Who We Are

Hogarth’s books emphasize the pleasures of storytelling, the originality of their authors, and the importance of global and diverse points of view. Inspired by the legacy of Virginia and Leonard Woolf, Hogarth believes in developing literary talent and careers and the enduring significance of literature in a rapidly changing world. As a boutique imprint within the Random House Publishing Group, the Hogarth editorial team offers each title the utmost care and attention while supported by the publishing strength and expertise of Random House.

“Books are the mirrors of the soul.”

—Virginia Woolf, co-founder of The Hogarth Press

David Ebershoff – Vice President & Editor in Chief

David Ebershoff is Vice President and Executive Editor of Hogarth and Random House. He’s edited a wide range of award-winning and bestselling authors, including winners of the Pulitzer Prize in fiction, history, and biography; a National Book Award in fiction; an Oprah Book Club selection; and more than twenty New York Times bestsellers. He’s edited novelists David Mitchell, Adam Johnson, Imbolo Mbue, Gary Shteyngart, Teju Cole, and Norman Mailer; and non-fiction writers Fredrik Logevall, David Kertzer, Diane Keaton, Shirin Ebadi, Naoki Higashida, Jean Stein, and Jane Jacobs. David’s own bestselling novels include The Danish Girl, which was adapted into an Oscar-winning film, and The 19th Wife, which was adapted for television.

Parisa Ebrahimi – Executive Editor

Parisa Ebrahimi joined Hogarth from its sister imprint, Chatto & Windus in London, where she worked for ten years editing fiction, nonfiction, and an award-winning poetry list, with authors including Chloe Aridjis, Sarah Bakewell, Lauren Elkin, and Danez Smith. In 2017, she moved to New York. Her authors at Hogarth include Anuk Arudpragasam, Sarah Manguso, Han Kang, Namwali Serpell, Lillian Fishman, Khashayar Khabushani, Lawrence Osborne, Fatima Farheen Mirza, Juliana Wang, and Sanaë Lemoine.

Jillian Buckley – Associate Editor

Before joining Hogarth in 2016, Jillian was an assistant at The Clegg Agency, where she managed foreign rights and worked closely with Bill Clegg’s clients. Since moving to the publishing side, she has worked with a broad range of prizewinning and bestselling authors, including Michael Christie, Melissa Broder, Mariana Enriquez, Alexandra Kleeman, and Lawrence Osborne. Jillian is acquiring literary fiction and translation, particularly stories boldly experimenting with form and content, and fiction that centers and deepens issues of class, power, and the climate crisis. Originally from Ohio, she is now based in Brooklyn.

Andy Ward – Executive Vice President & Publisher

Andy has been at Random House since 2009, and before that, spent almost fifteen years as an editor in magazines — first at Esquire, and then at GQ. Among the books he has edited are When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi, Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders, Fleishman is in Trouble by Taffy Brodesser-Akner, Salt Sugar Fat by Michael Moss, Passing for Human by Liana Finck, The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg, Edison by Edmund Morris, and How Beautiful We Were by Imbolo Mbue.

Rachel Rokicki – Vice President, Deputy Publisher

Rachel Rokicki is the VP, Deputy Publisher of fiction at Random House and Hogarth. Rachel has worked in publicity for over two decades, beginning her career at Basic Books, then working at The Penguin Press, Crown, and Hogarth where she was the Publicity Director. She has worked on literary fiction and major non-fiction with authors that include Anuk Arudpragasam, Michael Beschloss, Kate Bowler, Bill Bryson, Susan Cain, Mariana Enríquez, Kali Fajardo-Anstine, Sheri Fink, Anthony Marra, Frances Mayes, Imbolo Mbue, Namwali Serpell, Sally Rooney, and Jia Tolentino.

Melissa Esner  – Deputy Director, Hogarth, Crown & Currency

Melissa Esner is the Associate Director of Marketing for the Hogarth, Crown, and Currency divisions of the Random House Publishing Group. With over a dozen years in the industry, she has had the honor to work on an esteemed list of literary and nonfiction titles since joining Penguin Random House in 2017, including a wide range of books from prizewinning and bestselling authors Regina Porter, Christine Smallwood, Sarah Manguso, Anuk Arudpragasam, Alexandra Kleeman, Lillian Fishman, Frances Mayes, Michael Christie, Howard Jacobson, Rachel Maddow, Michiko Kakutani, Seth Rogen, Ai Weiwei, Eric Idle, Elizabeth Kolbert, and Brandi Carlile.

Maria Braeckel – Vice President and Director of Publicity

Maria Braeckel is the VP, Director of Publicity for Hogarth, Random House, The Dial Press and the Modern Library. In addition to guiding media and event strategy for the imprints, she has led publicity campaigns for Elizabeth Strout, George Saunders, Téa Obreht, Curtis Sittenfeld, Adam Johnson, Kelly Link, Ibram X. Kendi, Tara Westover, Brené Brown, Hanif Abdurraqib, Charles Duhigg, Kimberly Drew and Jenna Wortham, Gabrielle Hamilton, Lena Dunham andEd Catmull, among others.  She has been with Random House since 2007.